<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
		>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Dave Winer, Cybersquatter</title>
	<atom:link href="http://eyeonwiner.org/archives/2007/dave-winer-cybersquatter/feed" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://eyeonwiner.org/archives/2007/dave-winer-cybersquatter</link>
	<description>Keeping an eye on Dave Winer</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Wed, 23 Sep 2009 16:41:27 -0400</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.8.4</generator>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
		<item>
		<title>By: Tom</title>
		<link>http://eyeonwiner.org/archives/2007/dave-winer-cybersquatter/comment-page-1#comment-528</link>
		<dc:creator>Tom</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 15 Aug 2007 23:43:59 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://eyeonwiner.org/archives/2007/dave-winer-cybersquatter#comment-528</guid>
		<description>&lt;p&gt;It amazes me how Dave can try to negate his guilt with patently ridiculous statements.  Take this from Dave’s response to vallywag…&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;p&gt;--- I did release nickirelan.com when he hacked up my wikipedia profile page with an accusation.&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;p&gt;Now look at what Nick Irelan tried to add to Dave’s wikipedia page…&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;p&gt;--- After a disagreement Dave Winer registered my name as a domain name&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;p&gt;Notice how Dave uses “accusation” as if the charge Nick Irelan was making wasn’t obviously true. Then look a little further down where Dave gives his excuse for registering the domain in the first place…&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;p&gt;--- I buy domains pretty regularly often for no particular reason.&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;p&gt;Could any sane person really think that is an excuse?  What does that even mean?  Is he trying to imply that there was no malice in buying a url for the name of a person he had just had a fight with?&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;p&gt;Sometimes the insanity seems over the top.  Though honestly, if Scoble were here right now I’d bet a decent amount of money he’d think Winer was in the right.&lt;/p&gt;
</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>It amazes me how Dave can try to negate his guilt with patently ridiculous statements.  Take this from Dave’s response to vallywag…</p>

<p>&#8212; I did release nickirelan.com when he hacked up my wikipedia profile page with an accusation.</p>

<p>Now look at what Nick Irelan tried to add to Dave’s wikipedia page…</p>

<p>&#8212; After a disagreement Dave Winer registered my name as a domain name</p>

<p>Notice how Dave uses “accusation” as if the charge Nick Irelan was making wasn’t obviously true. Then look a little further down where Dave gives his excuse for registering the domain in the first place…</p>

<p>&#8212; I buy domains pretty regularly often for no particular reason.</p>

<p>Could any sane person really think that is an excuse?  What does that even mean?  Is he trying to imply that there was no malice in buying a url for the name of a person he had just had a fight with?</p>

<p>Sometimes the insanity seems over the top.  Though honestly, if Scoble were here right now I’d bet a decent amount of money he’d think Winer was in the right.</p>]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Bullshit Mancuso</title>
		<link>http://eyeonwiner.org/archives/2007/dave-winer-cybersquatter/comment-page-1#comment-521</link>
		<dc:creator>Bullshit Mancuso</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 15 Aug 2007 21:19:33 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://eyeonwiner.org/archives/2007/dave-winer-cybersquatter#comment-521</guid>
		<description>&lt;p&gt;The same message appears on some of his news river sites:&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;p&gt;http://cnetriver.com/&lt;br /&gt;
http://cnnriver.com/&lt;br /&gt;
http://wsjriver.com/&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;p&gt;My guess is that it&#039;s just sloppy programming.&lt;/p&gt;
</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The same message appears on some of his news river sites:</p>

<p><a href="http://cnetriver.com/" rel="nofollow">http://cnetriver.com/</a><br />
<a href="http://cnnriver.com/" rel="nofollow">http://cnnriver.com/</a><br />
<a href="http://wsjriver.com/" rel="nofollow">http://wsjriver.com/</a></p>

<p>My guess is that it&#8217;s just sloppy programming.</p>]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: zaphodim</title>
		<link>http://eyeonwiner.org/archives/2007/dave-winer-cybersquatter/comment-page-1#comment-524</link>
		<dc:creator>zaphodim</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 15 Aug 2007 21:08:59 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://eyeonwiner.org/archives/2007/dave-winer-cybersquatter#comment-524</guid>
		<description>&lt;p&gt;hee hee.. Valleywag picked up on this cybersquatter story.&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;p&gt;http://valleywag.com/tech/feuds/crusty-old-web-wanker-dave-winer-cybersquats-on-rival-289885.php&lt;/p&gt;
</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>hee hee.. Valleywag picked up on this cybersquatter story.</p>

<p><a href="http://valleywag.com/tech/feuds/crusty-old-web-wanker-dave-winer-cybersquats-on-rival-289885.php" rel="nofollow">http://valleywag.com/tech/feuds/crusty-old-web-wanker-dave-winer-cybersquats-on-rival-289885.php</a></p>]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Tom</title>
		<link>http://eyeonwiner.org/archives/2007/dave-winer-cybersquatter/comment-page-1#comment-520</link>
		<dc:creator>Tom</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 15 Aug 2007 14:07:21 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://eyeonwiner.org/archives/2007/dave-winer-cybersquatter#comment-520</guid>
		<description>&lt;p&gt;Ahhhh...after a brief bout of pity I&#039;m beginning to feel the warm glow of pure dislike again and I have to say...it feels good.  Anyway, this seems to be a bit of a hobby for Winer, registering URLs that represent people he doesn&#039;t like (as mentioned earlier on this blog, eyeonwiner.com redirects to scripting.com thanks to him).  But when I went to nickirelan.com I found this...&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;hr /&gt;

&lt;p&gt;This site is retired...&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;p&gt;http://nickirelan.com/&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;p&gt;Over the years I&#039;ve tried out lots of ideas, some work, others work a little, and some -- not at all. The ones that work are worth keeping, the ones that don&#039;t, they take care of themselves. But the ones in the middle can linger for years, not doing much for anyone, and costing both dollars and hassles to keep going. 
Recently I&#039;ve decided to start turning off the ones that sort-of work, the goal being to reduce the monetary and karmic cost of maintaining an online presence. This is one of the sites I&#039;ve decided to retire.&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;p&gt;A little philosophy. In order to get somewhere, you have to try lots of ideas, and most of them aren&#039;t huge successes. But, imho, it&#039;s good to try -- it&#039;s also good to know when it didn&#039;t work.&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;p&gt;Dave Winer
Scripting News&lt;/p&gt;

&lt;hr /&gt;

&lt;p&gt;What exactly is that supposed to mean?&lt;/p&gt;
</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Ahhhh&#8230;after a brief bout of pity I&#8217;m beginning to feel the warm glow of pure dislike again and I have to say&#8230;it feels good.  Anyway, this seems to be a bit of a hobby for Winer, registering URLs that represent people he doesn&#8217;t like (as mentioned earlier on this blog, eyeonwiner.com redirects to scripting.com thanks to him).  But when I went to nickirelan.com I found this&#8230;</p>

<hr />

<p>This site is retired&#8230;</p>

<p><a href="http://nickirelan.com/" rel="nofollow">http://nickirelan.com/</a></p>

<p>Over the years I&#8217;ve tried out lots of ideas, some work, others work a little, and some &#8212; not at all. The ones that work are worth keeping, the ones that don&#8217;t, they take care of themselves. But the ones in the middle can linger for years, not doing much for anyone, and costing both dollars and hassles to keep going. 
Recently I&#8217;ve decided to start turning off the ones that sort-of work, the goal being to reduce the monetary and karmic cost of maintaining an online presence. This is one of the sites I&#8217;ve decided to retire.</p>

<p>A little philosophy. In order to get somewhere, you have to try lots of ideas, and most of them aren&#8217;t huge successes. But, imho, it&#8217;s good to try &#8212; it&#8217;s also good to know when it didn&#8217;t work.</p>

<p>Dave Winer
Scripting News</p>

<hr />

<p>What exactly is that supposed to mean?</p>]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
